jump to navigation

Eight Days a Week Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Posted by Grace in graceisms.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

‘Tis the eight meme. I’ve seen it about, and thought I would give it a try.

Eight passions in my life:
People: there is so much you can learn about the world and yourself from people. So much you can experience and grow from. Some people do well, looking inwards to themselves. I am a people person, I need people.
Making tasty food for people to eat: I love food, and have been raised in a family where food is love. Ever heard the saying food is the way to a person’s heart? It works.
My friends and family: If I’m passionate about people, wouldn’t it go to logic that I’m passionate about the people I love? No further explanation needed.
Being active: because your body is the greatest tool you’ll ever have.
Love: showing it to others, and fostering the relationships that direct it at me.
Learning: the more I do it, the more I realize how much there is out there to know and how little I really do know which makes me want to learn more.
Painting: It’s one of those things I just get lost in doing. Hours of a brush, acrylic or oil, and a canvas can take you almost anywhere.
Experiencing the world: There are so many beautiful and new things out there to do.

Eight things to do before I die:
Marry a man I’m madly in love with.
Continue to be that madly in love until death parts us
Have children: I think four is a good number for me
Write a book and get it published
Make or garner a scientific discovery
Open a restaurant
Spend time by the ocean: I’m thinking Atlantic, but any one would work
Show the people most important to me how much I love them on a daily basis

8 Things I often say:
What do you think about…?
giggle: Not actually saying it, but doing it. I laugh a lot and am prone to getting the giggles. Does that count as something you say?
You always have a choice.
Wait…. What?
But why?: It seems I ask a lot of questions. Inquisitive? Yeah, a little.
… makes me melt: That’s right, it’s my phrase. Things I like make me melt. I’m pretty sure I’ve used it on here before. I’m not sure where I got it from or where it came from if it is original.
Hello: After some thought, I say this very often. Most people do.
Come cuddle: I’m one of those people. I cuddle.
What are you hungry for?: I cook for others, often. I like to involve them in the process at least that much. They can choose but I shall make.

8 Books I read (or reread) recently that I enjoyed:
The Four Fires – Bryce Courtenay
The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
Venus as a Boy – Luke Sutherland
Brother Fish – Bryce Courtenay
The Fabric of the Cosmos – Brian Greene
Feersum Endjinn – Ian M. Banks
Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures – Vincent Lam
Textbooks, which I am lumping into one category

Eight songs I listen to over and over:
River Man – Nick Drake
Vienna – Midge Ure & Eddie Izzard at Live 8
No More Named Johnny – Hawksley Workman
We’re in this Together – Nine Inch Nails
If I had a Hammer – Gord Downie & the Country of Miracles
One by One – Billy Bragg & Wilco
When the Stars Go Blue – Ryan Adams
The Drugs Don’t Work – Ben Harper
so very difficult to whittle down to eight, there are many

Eight things that attract me to my best friends:
Knowing they will stick through with you, high tide or low
Being able to laugh at every day things
Their being open minded but opinionated
A certain measure of vim and vinegar
Their talent for mischief
Their enormous propensity to be generous and kind
Their honesty
Their deep understanding that friends can be, and are, family.

Song of the Day: Eight Days a Week – The Beatles

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

