jump to navigation

You Can’t Always Get What You Want Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Posted by Grace in fit addiction.
Tags: ,
trackback

I have a problem to pose to the gym gurus out there: At the gym, I’ve been very happy with the results I’ve seen from strength training and toning. I feel great, and am quite happy with how things are looking. It is getting to a point where it’s fine tuning and maintenance. Still, there is a little bit of fatty tissue that I’d like to be rid of sitting over my abs.

I know that females tend to carry more fat than males, because of our body design, and that that little patch tends to be a point of contention for many of us out there, but I just don’t know what to do about it. The Resident Italian, my personal gym guru, has instructed me in some pretty standard slimming down procedures, and it is working, I definitely have noticed some overall, but just not where I want it. Now, I’m pretty willowy by nature, so simply sticking with this doesn’t seem to viable, as I’m already starting to see the little dips between my ribs. This isn’t a big obstacle I’m trying to jump here, it’s just a wee soft bit I’d rather not be there. What’s the point of all of the crunches and oblique work if you’re going to have that stubborn little pad of fat over top hiding the results?

The Resident Italian doesn’t know a lot about this area, he’s all about the getting big and strong and buff, and not about “I want a flatter tummy.” His is flat (I’m jealous!) because he spends hours and hours at the gym and there isn’t much fat on him anywhere. He did that magical boy thing where he didn’t need to think about it, it just went away. But no, I’ve got the recalcitrant little bit of tummy I’m ready to be rid of. He’s not sure how to go about fixing this dilemma I’ve been having, because its about smaller instead of bigger, and its kind of ‘a girl thing’ (his words not mine).

So, as you can see, my gym guru has currently run out of advice in this instance. Anyone have any suggestions?

Song of the Day: You Can’t Always Get What You Want – The Rolling Stones

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

