jump to navigation

She is Beautiful Thursday, January 10, 2008

Posted by Grace in strange days.
Tags:
trackback

I had a rather pleasant surprise yesterday, shocking, but pleasant.

I had parked my car on a side street after class, and I was just grabbing my bag to head to my friend Switzerland’s apartment. We were going to have a girl’s night in. I heard another vehicle pull up beside me, which didn’t make sense because I was parked on the side of the road, so double parking wasn’t exactly a possibility.

I closed my door and turned around to a stranger waving and rolling down his window.

“Hello,” he said with a warm accent I couldn’t place, “Do you live near here?”

“No,” I told him, “I’m visiting a friend.”

“I’m looking for apartments for rent in this area. Do you know of any openings?”

This seemed a little strange, I had already said that I wasn’t from the area, so there wouldn’t really be any reason that I would know, but maybe he was asking just in case, so I answered, “No, sorry, I’m probably not the best person to ask,” thinking that would be the end of it.

He smiled and looked ahead, I thought he was about to leave, so I turned back to lock the doors to my car. He was still there when I was done.

“Are you married?” He asked me.

It took a couple of seconds to register, the question had shocked me. “No, not yet…”

“You are very beautiful.” He said, flashing a very white smile. “My name is Chase. What is yours?”

I had visions run through my head of my mother telling me as a little girl not to talk to strangers. “Grace.” I answered.

After a moment of silence, neither of us knowing what to say, I wished him luck on his apartment search.

“Have a good day, beautiful Grace.” He said, rolled up his window, and drove away.

Like I said, a surprise that was shocking but pleasant. It’s amazing how chance encounters like that just highlight your day and make your step a little lighter.

So Chase, whoever and where ever you are, thank you.

Song of the Day: She is Beautiful – Andrew W K

Comments»

1. Joan - Saturday, January 12, 2008

I love it when that happens…especially from other women.

I was in an upscale gourmet grocery with my nephew (who had to use the little boy’s room). We were holding hands and running trying to find the bathroom in time. So I quickly asked the middle aged lady making cakes in the bakery where the restroom was. She told me and then cut me off right in the middle of “thank you.” She said, “My god, you are so beautiful!” That’s about the only thing that can make me blush. So I thanked her again and quickly rushed my nephew to the boy’s room.

I smiled all evening because of that comment. I think when other women say things like that, it’s nice because they probably don’t have any ulterior motive for doing so. The same is true for random guys who don’t try to get your number after a compliment.


Leave a Reply

